So, who owns your favourite media house?

Besides the usual politicians who own the big media houses, here are the other waheshimiwas who have controlling shares in some of the top media houses.

Here is a list of politicians who own various TV stations and radios stations as well

1. Jakoyo Midiwo owns Lake Victoria FM
Radio Lake Victoria FM is a broadcast radio station in Kisumu, Kenya, providing Community Information and Entertainment to the Lake Victoria Basin.

jakoyo midowo - Kenyan moguls! List of politicians who own media houses

2. Odinga family owns Radio Nam Lolwe FM
Radio Nam Lolwe FM (RNL) is a Vernacular radio station based in Kisumu city broadcasting in Luo language 24 hours with very competitive
raila odinga e1513498789719 - Kenyan moguls! List of politicians who own media houses3. Charity Ngilu owns Mbaitu FM
According to communication on the station’s website, Mbaitu FM is the only FM radio station that mirrors the Kamba community’s hopes and aspirations; creatively showcasing their experiences through the slice of life factor “Our People, Our Life”.
ngilu - Kenyan moguls! List of politicians who own media houses4. Najib Balala started Pili Pili FM and Sheki FM

Mediamax Network Ltd, now majority owned by Deputy President William Ruto, bought and rebranded Mombasa-based radio station PiliPili FM, which begun broadcasting in the Mijikenda language.

The move to rebrand PiliPili FM is being interpreted as a strategic investment by Ruto as he seeks to capture the Coastal vote ahead of the 2022 presidential contest.

As for Sheki FM, the mission is to serve radio audiences in Mombasa and the coast with distinctive programming that will address current issues of concern and aspirations of its residents, affording them access to relevant information, education, and entertainment.

balala - Kenyan moguls! List of politicians who own media houses5. Chirau Ali Mwakwere owns Kaya Fm
The radio station broadcasts from the coastal region. It is one of the leading regional radio stations that has been on air since 2007.
Chirau Ali Mwakwere 1 - Kenyan moguls! List of politicians who own media houses6. John Michael Njenga Mututho owns Country Side Fm
It is not yet clear if Mututho still owns the frequency for the radio station.

Back in 2010, the broadcaster lost four radio frequencies after the High Court ruled they were obtained illegally.

Countryside Broadcasting Company Limited which operates four FM stations in Nairobi, Nakuru, Nyeri and Meru under Countryside FM has now been switched off.

Lady Justice Martha Koome said the court would be perpetuating illegality by granting Countryside Broadcasting an injunction restraining Go Communication Ltd from withdrawing its frequencies.

Countryside then moved to court accusing Go Communication and Communications Commission of Kenya (CCK) of taking away its frequencies in breach of an oral partnership agreement.

mututho - Kenyan moguls! List of politicians who own media houses7. Kalonzo Musyoka owns Athiani FM
Athiani FM is a commercial Kamba-medium entertainment, programmes and information radio station targeting both informed and uninformed audience in the 18-50 age group.
The radio station prides itself in connecting with the aspirations of the Kamba Community and offers high-quality radio programming to a significant audience.
KALONZO - Kenyan moguls! List of politicians who own media houses8. Moses Kuria owns Fanaka TV
Fanaka TV delivers unrivalled coverage of Kenya’s key sectors and the people that push Kenya’s economy forward.
The TV show focuses on Agribusiness, Finance, Tech & Innovation, Infrastructure, Manufacturing, ICT, Housing, Agriculture, Entrepreneurship and other sectors.
This is in an effort to positively impact the National Narrative as well as inform and educate Kenyans and Africans as a whole on making investment decisions as well as to inspire and entertain.
moses kuria football - Kenyan moguls! List of politicians who own media housesRead more

Mpasho News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *